Reptiles

Reptiles are vertebrates, which means they have a vertebral column and, in most cases, two pairs of limbs. Most are oviparous: the young develop in eggs laid (and sometimes incubated) by the mother, breaking the shell to come out. Their skin consists of scales made of keratin, which is waterproof. Reptiles are cold-blooded animals. They are ectothermic, which means they absorb heat from outside rather than producing it themselves. Most reptiles are endangered because of the degrading of their habitat by human advances and agriculture.

Nile crocodile (Africa, Madagascar)


With all crocodilians, the gender of the young is determined by temperature. Nests with a temperature less than or equal to 30° produce females, those around 31° produce young of either sex, and those with a temperature of more than 32° produce males. The Nile crocodile is the most common crocodilian in Africa. It regularly exceeds 4 meters in length.

Green iguana (South america)


Lizards are the most widespread reptiles, with more than 5,000 known species. They can be found on all continents except Antarctica. Green iguanas are tree-dwelling and eat mainly leaves and fruit.

Giant Aldabra tortoise (Seychelles)


Testudines comprise marine and freshwater turtles and land-dwelling turtles. Giant Seychelles tortoises can weigh up to 250kg. Females lay a maximum of 25 eggs. Endemic to Aldabra atoll in the Seychelles, this species is listed as vulnerable on the IUCN’s Red List.

Boa constrictor (Central and South America)


There are more than 3,400 snake species. Boa constrictors belong to the Boidae family. They are non-venomous, instead suffocating their prey by rolling themselves around them, then swallowing them. Females keep eggs in their genital tracts until they hatch and give birth to fully formed young.

Reptiles

Les reptiles sont des vertébrés, c’est à dire qu’ils possèdent une colonne vertébrale et, pour la majorité d’entre eux, deux paires de membres. La plupart sont ovipares : les petits grandissent dans des oeufs pondus (éventuellement couvés) par la mère, dont ils brisent la coquille pour sortir. Leur peau est constituée d’écailles faites de bétâ-kératine, assurant une excellente imperméabilité. Ce sont des animaux à sang froid. Ils sont ectothermes, c’est à dire qu’ils absorbent la chaleur de l’extérieur au lieu de la produire eux-mêmes. La plupart des reptiles sont menacées d’extinction à cause de la dégradation de leur habitat au profit du développement humain et de l’agriculture.

Crocodile du Nil (Afrique, Madagascar)


Chez tous les crocodiliens, le sexe des jeunes est déterminé par la température. Les nids ayant une température inférieure ou égale à 30° produisent des femelles, ceux autour des 31° produisent des jeunes des deux sexes tandis que ceux possédant une température supérieure à 32° produisent des mâles. Le crocodile du Nil est le crocodilien d’Afrique le plus répandu. Il dépasse régulièrement les 4 mètres de longueur.

 

Iguane vert (Amérique du Sud)


Les lézards sont les reptiles les plus répandus avec plus de 5000 espèces recensées. On les trouve sur tous les continents à l'exception de l'Antarctique. L'iguane vert est arboricole et il se nourrit principalement de feuilles et de fruits.
 

Tortue géante d'Aldabra (Seychelles)


Il existe des tortues marines, des tortues d'eau douce et des tortues terrestres. La tortue géante des Seychelles peut peser jusqu'à 250 kilos. La femelle pond un maximum de 25 oeufs. Endémique à l'atoll d'Aldabra aux Seychelles, l'espèce est classée vulnérable sur la Liste Rouge de l'UICN.
 

Boa constrictor (Amérique centrale et du Sud)


On compte plus de 3400 espèces de serpents. Le boa constrictor appartient à la famille des Boïdés. Non venimeux, le boa constrictor étouffe sa proie en s'enroulant autour d'elle avant de l'ingérer. La femelle conserve les oeufs dans ses voies génitales jusqu'à leur éclosion et donne naissance à des petits entièrement formés.