SANCCOB

During the 20th century the total population of Black-footed Penguins (Spheniscus demersus) fell by nearly 90%. In 1956 there were 147,000 breeding couples, whereas numbers today are estimated at less than 27,000 couples. On Dassen Island alone, north-west of Cape Town, numbers have gone from about 1.5 million penguins in 1910 to less than 30,000 in 1990.
 
There are several factors in this dramatic decline. Its origins lie in activities that are now banned (hunting, egg-collecting, the gathering of guano, which the penguins need to make nests, to sell as fertiliser). Today penguins face new threats: pollution (oil dumping and spills), the dwindling of their food sources due to over-fishing and tidal changes, competition with sea lions for food and breeding sites, and being hunted by invasive species (wild cats).
 
SANCCOB* is working to preserve the species on two fronts: by helping reinforce wild colonies by releasing young penguins that have been reared by hand, by taking care of and rehabilitating birds affected by oil pollution, by protecting the penguins’ habitat and monitoring the different colonies. 
Why raise black-footed penguins artificially?
At the end of every annual breeding season, late-born chicks are abandoned by their parents, either because the latter are beginning to moult (which means ceasing to feed their young) or because they want to flee the rising heat. SANCCOB takes in these malnourished chicks, which would otherwise die, and bring them up in a specialised nursery, reintroducing them into the colony once they have their full plumage.

In addition to the program for strengthening the wild populations, SANCCOB carries out disease surveillance and conducts research on the pathologies that may affect the species. It is also developing an educational program for schoolchildren and visitors to its rehabilitation centers.

The Zoo de La Palmyre has helped finance SANCCOB since 2009.
 
Website: www.sanccob.co.za

*Southern African Foundation for the Conservation of Coastal Birds

© L. Hosten, SANCCOB.

SANCCOB

Au cours du 20ème siècle, la population globale de manchots du Cap (Spheniscus demersus) a diminué de près de 90%.
Alors qu'en 1956 on comptait 147 000 couples reproducteurs, les effectifs sont aujourd'hui estimés à moins de 27000 couples.
Sur la seule île de Dassen située au nord-ouest de la ville du Cap, on est passé d’environ 1,5 million de manchots en 1910, à moins de 30 000 en 1990 !

Plusieurs facteurs expliquent ce déclin dramatique. Certaines pratiques anciennes aujourd'hui interdites (chasse, collecte des oeufs, ramassage du guano vendu comme engrais alors qu'il est utilisé par les manchots pour nidifier), sont à l'origine de l'effondrement de la population. Aujourd'hui les manchots sont victimes de la pollution (dégazages sauvages, marées noires), de la raréfaction de leurs sources de nourriture à cause de la surpêche et de la modification des courants, de la compétition avec les otaries pour la nourriture et les sites de reproduction ainsi que de la prédation par des espèces invasives (chats sauvages).

Afin de préserver l'espèce, la SANCCOB* agit sur plusieurs fronts : elle contribue au renforcement des colonies sauvages en relâchant de jeunes manchots élevés à la main, elle soigne et réhabilite les oiseaux affectés par la pollution pétrolière, elle protège l’habitat des manchots et assure un suivi régulier des différentes colonies.
Pourquoi élever des manchots du Cap artificiellement ?
Chaque année en fin de saison de reproduction, des poussins nés tardivement sont abandonnés par leurs parents qui démarrent leur mue (et cessent alors de nourrir les petits) ou fuient la chaleur qui augmente. La SANCCOB recueille ces oisillons malnutris, voués à une mort certaine, et poursuit leur élevage dans une nursery spécialisée, avant de les réintroduire dans la colonie une fois leur plumage complété.

Parallèlement au programme de renforcement des populations sauvages, la SANCCOB opère une surveillance sanitaire et mène des recherches sur les différentes pathologies pouvant affecter l’espèce. Elle développe également un programme éducatif délivré aux scolaires et aux visiteurs de ses différents centres de réhabilitation.

Le Zoo de La Palmyre contribue au financement de la SANCCOB depuis 2009.

Site internet : www.sanccob.co.za

* Southern African Foundation for the Conservation of Coastal Birds

© L. Hosten, SANCCOB.