Painted Dog Conservation

African wild dogs (Lycaon pictus), also called painted wolves, are yet little known by the public. Listed as “endangered” on the IUCN Red List, they are among the rarest mammals in Africa. Less than 7,000 individuals remain in the wild.
 
The species is threatened by habitat fragmentation that increases conflicts with humans and especially shepherds. It is victim of snares, of collisions with vehicles, of poisoning, of infectious diseases transmitted by domestic dogs. Sub-populations with just a few dozen of individuals are particularly vulnerable in case of epidemics.
 
Formerly widespread in sub-Saharan Africa, painted dogs have now almost entirely disappeared from west and central Africa. Largest populations live in Bostwana, Tanzania and Zimbabwe. In this last country, the NGO Painted Dog Conservation aims to conserve the species in an area located near Hwange National Park that is home to about 300 individuals (about 50% of the Zimbabwean population).
 
The PDC acts on several fronts:
- monitoring of the painted dog packs thanks to radio-collaring (identification of the individuals, behavioral and movement patterns study, health monitoring…);
- anti-poaching units (destruction of the snares set by the poachers);
- injured and/or orphan painted dog rehabilitation followed by a release once the animals have recovered;
- community education and development (organization of educational stays for children from local schools including the visit of Hwange National Park, creation of conservation clubs in schools, creation of tree nurseries and community gardens, biological farming training, running of an interpretive center about painted dogs, handicraft development…).
 
La Palmyre Zoo supports Painted Dog Conservation since 2018.
 
Website: www.painteddog.org
 

 
Site web : www.painteddog.org

Painted Dog Conservation

Les lycaons (Lycaon pictus), appelés aussi loups peints, sont des animaux méconnus du grand public. Classés « en danger » sur la Liste Rouge de l’UICN, ils comptent parmi les plus rares mammifères du continent africain. On estime leur nombre global à moins de 7000 individus.
 
L’espèce est menacée par la fragmentation de son habitat qui engendre des conflits de plus en plus fréquents avec l’homme, et notamment les éleveurs. Elle est victime de pièges, de collisions avec des véhicules, d’empoisonnement, de maladies transmises par les chiens domestiques. Les sous-populations composées d’à peine quelques dizaines d’individus sont particulièrement vulnérables en cas d’épidémie.
 
Autrefois largement répandus en Afrique sub-saharienne, les lycaons ont aujourd’hui quasiment disparu d’Afrique de l’ouest et centrale. Les populations les plus importantes évoluent au Bostwana, en Tanzanie et au Zimbabwe. Dans ce dernier pays, l’ONG Painted Dog Conservation s’est donné pour mission de préserver l’espèce sur une zone située à proximité du Parc National de Hwange et abritant près de 300 individus, soit environ 50 % de la population totale du Zimbabwe.
 
Le PDC intervient dans plusieurs domaines :
- suivi des packs de lycaons grâce à la pose de colliers émetteurs (identification des individus, étude du comportement et des déplacements, suivi sanitaire…) ;
- lutte anti-braconnage (destruction des collets posés par les braconniers) ;
- réhabilitation des lycaons blessés (ou orphelins) suivie de relâchés une fois les animaux rétablis ;
- éducation et développement des communautés locales (organisation de séjours éducatifs pour les écoliers locaux incluant la visite du Parc National de Hwange, création de clubs de conservation dans les écoles, création de pépinières et de jardins communautaires, formation à l’agriculture biologique, aménagement d’un centre d’interprétation sur les lycaons, développement de l’artisanat…).
 
Le Zoo de La Palmyre soutient Painted Dog Conservation depuis 2018.
 
Site web : www.painteddog.org