Primates

There are 479 known species of primate. They are incredibly diverse, both from a morphological and behavioural point of view and in terms of habitat, social organization, diet, breeding and even communication. The Zoo de La Palmyre houses about 30 primate species, from the largest (gorilla) to the smallest (pigmy marmoset), via the playful (capuchin) and one of the most rare (Roloway’s monkey).

Gorilla (Africa)


This is one of the most impressive primates, with males sometimes weighing more than 200kg. Newborns weigh 100 times less: barely 1.5kg!
There are 4 known sub-species, with the mountain gorilla the most famous due to Dian Fossey’s studies. Zoos house western lowland gorillas. Highly endangered in the wild, these are the subject of a European Breeding Program.

Pied tamarin (Brazil)


This is one of the Amazon Basin’s most endangered primates because it only lives around Manaus, a rapidly expanding city of more than 1.5 million inhabitants.
Uniquely among primates, female marmosets and tamarins do not bring up their young by themselves: other members of the group carry and take care of them, giving them back to the mother for breastfeeding.

Roloway’s monkey (Africa)


On the Ivory Coast, Roloway’s monkeys only survive in one forest but it is impossible to estimate their numbers because they are rarely seen. They are endangered through being hunted for the bush-meat trade and through the destruction of their habitat.

Bornean orangutan (Malaysia)


Palm oil plantations are gradually replacing the Malay tropical forest. Orangutans rarely descend to ground level and are entirely dependent on the forest to feed (they consume more than 300 different foods!), to raise their young and for the nests where they spend the night. The disappearance of the forest is leading to the fragmentation of populations and genetic isolation, which are highly problematic for the species’ long-term survival.

Blue-eyed lemur (Madagascar)


Madagascar is a priority area for primate conservation. This is the country with the greatest diversity of species after Brazil, and 100% of the primates living on the ‘Red Island’ are endemic – which means they don’t live anywhere else. Blue-eyed lemurs are among the world’s 25 most endangered species. The European Breeding Program includes only 33 blue-eyed lemurs in 11 zoos. There have been only 9 births since 2000.

Primates

479 espèces de primates sont aujourd'hui répertoriées dans le monde. Elles présentent une grande diversité, à la fois d'un point de vue morphologique et comportemental, mais aussi en terme d'habitat, d'organisation sociale, de régime alimentaire, de reproduction ou encore de communication. Le Zoo de La Palmyre présente une trentaine d'espèces différentes, du plus imposant (le gorille) au plus petit (le ouistiti pygmée), en passant par le plus facétieux (le capucin) ou l'un des plus rares (le cercopithèque Roloway).

Gorille (Afrique)


Sans doute le plus impressionnant des primates. Les mâles peuvent dépasser les 200 kilos. A la naissance en revanche, le petit pèse 100 fois moins : à peine 1,5 kilo !
On recense quatre sous-espèces dont la plus connue est sans doute le gorille de montagne, rendu célèbre par les recherches de Dian Fossey. Les parcs zoologiques hébergent des gorilles des plaines de l'Ouest. Extrêmement menacés dans leur milieu naturel, ils font l'objet d'un Programme d'Elevage Européen.
 

Tamarin bicolore (Brésil)


C'est l'un des primates les plus menacés du Bassin amazonien car il ne vit qu'aux alentours de Manaus, une ville en pleine expansion comptant plus d'un million et demi d'habitants.
Fait unique chez les primates, les femelles ouistitis et tamarins n'ont pas l'exclusivité de l'élevage des jeunes : ces derniers sont en effet portés par l'ensemble des membres du groupe, la mère ne les récupérant qu'au moment de la tétée.
 

Cercopithèque Roloway (Afrique)


En Côte d'Ivoire il ne survit plus que dans une seule forêt, mais il est impossible d'estimer ses effectifs car les observations directes sont rares. Sa survie est menacée par la chasse pour le commerce de viande de brousse et par la destruction de son habitat.
 

Orang-outan de Bornéo (Malaisie)


Les plantations de palmiers à huile remplacent peu à peu la forêt tropicale malaise. Ne descendant quasi jamais au sol, l'orang-outan dépend entièrement de la forêt pour s'alimenter (il consomme plus de 300 aliments différents !), élever ses jeunes et fabriquer les nids où il passe la nuit. La disparition de la forêt entraîne la fragmentation des populations et leur isolement génétique, très problématiques pour leur survie à long terme.
 

Lémur aux yeux turquoise (Madagascar)


Madagascar constitue une zone prioritaire en matière de conservation des primates. C'est en effet le 2ème pays présentant la plus grande diversité d'espèces après le Brésil et 100% des primates présents sur l'île rouge sont endémiques, c'est à dire qu'ils n'existent nulle part ailleurs. Le lémur aux yeux turquoise est classé parmi les 25 primates les plus menacés au monde. Le Programme d’Elevage Européen ne compte qu'une trentaine d'individus répartis dans 11 institutions. Seulement 9 naissances ont été enregistrées depuis 2000.