Carnivores

The largest carnivores fascinate us with their power, beauty and agility. In many countries, however, including France, their coexistence with humans is fraught due to them preying on livestock. In some places they are also hunted for their skin or bones, used in traditional Asian medicine. And forest species are falling victim to the destruction and fragmentation of their habitat. Yet carnivores play an essential role in conserving ecosystems: their position at the head of the food chain means they regulate herbivore populations and are essential to the overall ecological balance.

Cheetah (Africa, Asia)


Fast and sleek, cheetahs are highly endangered in the wild due to other predators (who often steal their prey) and to a lack of genetic diversity, which leaves them more vulnerable to diseases and less adaptable to changes in their environment. 

Tiger (Asia)


Tigers have lost more than 90% of their range over the last 100 years. Their remaining territories have only small, isolated and hence very fragile populations. These super-predators can attack animals weighing more than 1 tonne. The success of their attacks depends on the element of surprise as tigers cannot pursue prey over very long distances.

African wild dog (Africa)


Dominant female African wild dogs generally have litters of about 10 but sometimes they run to more than 20 babies! The pack works together to look after and rear the young. African wild dogs hunt in a very well-coordinated manner, giving them a higher success rate than other carnivores.

Sri Lanka leopard (Asia)


This opportunistic cat is the only large carnivore of the island. Listed as endangered on the IUCN Red List, it is threatened by habitat destruction and poaching. 700 to 950 individuals remain in the wild.

Meerkat (Africa)


Meerkats eat mainly insects that they dig out of the ground. They like basking in the sun at the entrances to their burrows at the start and end of the day, relaxed in the knowledge that one of the group acting as a sentinel will alert them to danger. The young are looked after in a group creche while members go out foraging for food.

Lion (Africa, Asia)


Lions are social animals, unlike most other felines. Females hunt in groups, often attacking large prey such as buffalo or elephants. Males have an impressive mane – another unique feature among felines.

Carnivores

La puissance, la beauté et l'agilité des plus grands d'entre eux nous fascinent. Pourtant, dans bon nombre de pays, y compris en France, la cohabitation avec l'homme s'avère souvent difficile en raison de conflits liés à la prédation sur le bétail. Ailleurs, ils sont chassés pour leur peau ou leur os, utilisés par la médecine traditionnelle asiatique. Enfin, les espèces forestières sont victimes de la destruction et de la fragmentation de leur habitat. Les carnivores jouent cependant un rôle essentiel dans la conservation des écosystèmes : situés en bout de chaîne alimentaire, ils régulent les populations d'herbivores et sont essentiels à l'équilibre écologique global.

Guépard (Afrique, Asie)


Rapide et élégant, le guépard n'en est pas moins extrêmement menacé dans son milieu naturel, victime des autres grands prédateurs (qui lui dérobent souvent ses proies) et d'un manque de diversité génétique qui le rend plus vulnérable aux maladies et moins adaptable aux perturbations de son environnement.

Tigre (Asie)


Au cours du dernier siècle, le tigre a perdu plus de 90% de son aire historique de répartition. Les territoires où il subsiste encore n'abritent plus que de petites populations isolées et par conséquent très fragiles. Ce prédateur d'exception peut s'attaquer à des proies pesant près d'une tonne. La réussite de ses attaques dépend de l'effet de surprise, l'animal étant en effet incapable de poursuivre ses proies sur de très longues distances.

Lycaon (Afrique)


La femelle dominante donne généralement naissance à une dizaine de petits mais certaines portées peuvent atteindre plus de 20 bébés ! L'ensemble de la meute participe aux soins et à l'élevage des jeunes. La chasse, extrêmement coordonnée, leur permet d'avoir un taux de réussite plus élevé que chez les autres carnivores.

Panthère du Sri Lanka (Asie)


Ce félin opportuniste aux moeurs solitaires est le seul grand carnivore de l'île. Classé en danger sur la Liste Rouge de l'UICN, il est menacé par la destruction de son habitat et le braconnage. Ses effectifs sont estimés entre 700 et 950 individus.
 

Suricate (Afrique)


Il se nourrit principalement d'insectes qu'il trouve en creusant le sol. Il aime se relaxer au soleil à l'entrée de son terrier au début et à la fin de la journée, tranquillisé par la présence d'une sentinelle qui donne l'alerte en cas de danger. Les petits sont gardés en crèche pendant que le groupe fourrage à la recherche de nourriture.

Lion (Afrique, Asie)


C'est un animal social, un fait plutôt rare chez les félins généralement solitaires. Les femelles chassent en groupe, s'attaquant parfois à des proies de grande taille comme des buffles ou des éléphants. Les mâles possèdent une crinière impressionnante, une caractéristique là encore unique chez les félins.